Santa Clara County Library system to begin $80 annual fee for non-residents

<A HREF="">The fur begins to fly as universal borrowing gets tossed out in Santa Clara county. </A>


I lived in Mountain View for 11 years. I was damn well not a "nonresident" of Santa Clara County, and I seem to remember paying all county taxes. Maybe there's a special library tax that is waived if you're in one of the Santa Clara County cities that has a city library, but I sure don't remember hearing about it.

Calling people in those cities "nonresidents" is a little like saying that Californians aren't residents of the United States.

It's understandably confusing for residents of Santa Clara County to not also be residents of the Santa Clara County Library District, but in fact the Library District includes some, not all cities in the county. If you are a resident or property owner in Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill, Saratoga or the unincorporated area of Santa Clara County, then your property taxes support the Santa Clara County Library District. If not, then your property taxes support your local city library.

For over 30 years, state funding has partially reimbursed the cost to libraries that lend books to residents outside the library district and this is why it was not necessary to define non-district residents. That is, until elimination or drastic reductions in state funding were proposed as of July 1, 2011. Please visit the Santa Clara County Library District website for more information.

So my prior year tax dollars were used to build a library that I now am charged an additional fee to use. Pretty petty.

Add new comment