Bring Back That Book, Or It's Gonna Hurt

Checking out a book from the West Fork Public Library in Arkansas and then keeping could really cost you.

A new measure before the town's council could criminalize the act and levy a $100 fine per item. While keeping a library book is stealing, I've not seen too many places where they actually spell that out in a law.

More from NWAnews.

Comments

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Already is illegal in Arkansas

Ark. Code 13-2-101 makes it a violation with a fine of $10 - 100 per item.

A violation is like a non-criminal violation of the law. It is a civil violation like a speeding ticket. It carries no criminal sanctions.

In brief if the materials are not returned in compliance with library rules the library must mail one letter and then 30 days after than charges can be filed. There will be a hearing and if convicted the violator is fined.

Syndicate content